I have never read proverbs straight through before. It is way different than I thought it would be. I think I have always read proverbs like I would read a fortune cookie, just reading the wise words, think about it for 10 seconds and then move on. But from reading it I can see Solomon really pleading with his sons to follow lady wisdom and stay away from foolish temptations. Proverbs 7 was hard for me to find applicable because I can’t get over the fact that he keeps talking about prostitutes. I have no temptations with prostitutes. But I think God meant this chapter and all chapters in Proverbs to be applicable in our lives. 

#Shereadstruth had a really good application for this chapter and I want to share it here. 

“As I read through this chapter, specificy the middle verses where Foolish is described, I see my sins there.  Maybe not as outright and obvious as described–or maybe–but they are there.
I want to be more like Wisdom.  But I see so much more of Foolish in me.

Say to wisdom, “You are my sister,”
and call insight your intimate friend

[Proverbs 7:4, ESV]

Divine wisdom and insight should be a sister or an intimate friend.

Stop for a second, think of your closest friend.  Perhaps, it is your sister.

How have you become close?

How did your friendship grow to what it is today?

How much time do you spend with her/him?

You probably see where I’m going with these questions: if we are going to intimately know God’s wisdom and understanding, we need to know Him.  We need to know His Truth.  We need to know His heart, and have one like His.

We need to be accurate, yet imperfect reflections of Him.  And we can only do that by spending time with Him and learning more about Him.  The best part is that He already knows everything there is to know about you!  So there is nothing to be ashamed about.

nothing.  He knows all your junk, and He loves you.  Oh, does He love you.” 

Sounds simple. Yet our sin makes it complicated. But luckily Jesus takes care of that!

Do you treat God like a friend? Selah.