Tags

, , , ,

Image

This photo was taken on my trip to Israel in 2010. This is the garden of Gethsemane as we would see it toady. The trees here are more then 2000 years old. Image

Here is a close up of a 2000 year old tree. Could have been near where Jesus sat and prayed the night he was arrested.

Day 18 of my prayer plan has me reading from the verse taken in the photo. Today I am reading it from a different version called The Voice, a new Bible translation check it our here.

Matthew 26:36-44

36 At that, Jesus led His disciples to the place called Gethsemane.

Jesus: I am going over there to pray. You sit here while I’m at prayer.
37 Then He took Peter and the two sons of Zebedee with Him, and He grew sorrowful and deeply distressed.
Jesus: 38 My soul is overwhelmed with grief, to the point of death. Stay here and keep watch with Me.
39 He walked a little farther and finally fell prostrate and prayed.
Jesus: Father, this is the last thing I want. If there is any way, please take this bitter cup from Me. Not My will, but Yours be done.
40 When He came back to the disciples, He saw that they were asleep. Peter awoke a little less confident and slightly chagrined.
Jesus (to Peter): So you couldn’t keep watch with Me for just one short hour? 41 Now maybe you’re learning: the spirit is willing, but the body is weak. Watch and pray and take care that you are not pulled down during a time of testing.
42 With that, Jesus returned to His secluded spot to pray again.
Jesus: Father, if there is no other way for this cup to pass without My drinking it—then not My will, but Yours be done.
43 Again Jesus returned to His disciples and found them asleep. Their eyes were heavy-lidded. 44 So Jesus left them again and returned to prayer, praying the same sentiments with the same words.
I love that this passage let’s us see into Jesus’ thoughts and get just a glimpse of the agony he went through knowing what he was about to do on the cross. He asks God many times to allow him not to do this, yet with the same breath surrenders His will to the Father’s will. This wasn’t easy for Jesus. I think that is what makes it so significant. Selah.
